Such a misleading phrase. It assumes that the moment one brings a child into this world, one becomes a mother.

If only it were that easy. In reality, becoming a mother is a work in progress. Every day a child grows, develops, understands and communicates more. And the more a mother learns to be a mother.

As a parent, I think I know. After all, mother knows best, doesn’t she? But there is so much my son teaches me everyday. About him, about us and about myself.

My son is now three years old. And it has taken me all that while to scratch the surface on what it means to be a mother. It has taken me three years to accept it and to take pride in it and find joy in it.

Some days I regret that it took me so long. I mourn the wasted days and the moments that are gone.

But just as my son had to first crawl and then walk before he could run I had some learning of my own to do.

And so I tell myself, ‘Live in the present, savor the moment for it is so fleeting.’  To experience both success and failure, as I raise a child and in turn, he raises a mother.

